Ode to my Suzuki GS500F

img_0012

The Suzuki GS500F was my first bike. I don’t have it anymore, but I have to tell you about it. It’s a wonderful, simple machine. Released in 1989, and upgraded with a fairing in 2004, the Suzuki GS500 had a long, successful life in the motorcycle market. Mine was a 2009 model, the last year of production, and was built in Spain. I wish Suzuki was still making it, perhaps with a few modern upgrades, like fuel injection, for instance.

I bought it a dealership in Coquitlam, British Columbia, and it served me well until I traded it for a cruiser in Laval, Quebec, in 2016.

The GS500 has a parallel twin cylinder set-up (487 cc), 4-stroke, dual overhead cams, two valves per cylinder,  is carburated, pushes out just under 50 horsepower, and is very agile due to slightly narrower rear tires (130s). One of the best things about the bike is that it comes with a centre stand as well as a side stand. This makes maintenance very easy. The riding position is generally upright, with an easy reach to the raised handlebar. Its 20-litre gas tank provides a range well in excess of 325 kilometres.

When my job took me from BC to Ontario, my wife suggested that instead of shipping it, I should ride the GS to Toronto while she drove our Toyota Corolla. For people who enjoy exploring as much as we do, it was one of the best decisions we have ever taken. We took the U.S. Route, following Interstate 90 (Washington-Idaho-Montana-Wyoming-South Dakota-Minnesota-Wisconsin-Illinois-Michigan and into Ontario). It was a memorable trip, with stops at historical sites like the Little Big Horn, site of Custer’s Last Stand, and at Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills of South Dakota. The bike handled well on the highway. One magazine reviewer once called the model “the most economical sport tourer in the market.” Wind protection on the faired model is very good; but the bike is relatively light, so I was blown around pretty strongly from the side when we encountered strong southerly winds in the prairies. In situations like that the body panels act somewhat like a sail. In all other situations, the windshield and fairing make it easy to cover long distances.

img_0043

In terms of engine performance, at 100 kilometres per hour the engine is turning at a comfortable 5,000 RPM and rises to 6,000 at 120; but with the redline fixed at 11,000 RPM, freeway speeds are easily maintained.

When you ride your bike for hundreds of kilometres a day, you really bond with your vehicle. You get to know each sound the motorcycle makes in any situation and your muscle memory grows daily, making riding more instinctive.

Once I was in Toronto and working downtown, I would often take long detours on Rosedale Valley Road and the Don Valley Parkway just to make my rides last longer. It was a joyous commuting experience.

I also rode the GS when later I moved to Montreal for a year, and enjoyed exploring the city and surroundings every chance I could. Quebec has some beautiful country roads. My trips to Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Île Bizard and the Laurentians were especially nice.

The day came when I wanted to own a cruiser with more grunt and a different riding style. Unfortunately,  I couldn’t afford two bikes at the time. If I could have kept it, I would have done so. The day I picked up the cruiser was a bittersweet day for me.  As I turned in the GS to the dealer, I felt like a parent abandoning a child.

The GS is a relatively simple machine known for its reliability. I put more than 20,000 kilometres on the odometer and experienced only minor issues during my years of ownership: a starter clutch failure and one chain and sprocket replacement. That’s it. Like so many new riders, I dropped the motorbike, too. The first time it happened was on the second day of ownership, while trying to park on some gravel, not extending the kickstand all the way. The fall resulted in some cracks to the fairing on one side. The cracks were easily covered with black electrical tape and remained that way the entire time I owned it. The little flaws became part of the character of the bike.

The GS is wonderful on windy roads, wonderfully agile and punchy. The power is perfect for me. Not too big, nor too small.

The bike can also carry a lot of cargo. A metal rail runs under the long seat and it’s perfect for bungee chord attachment points. The long seat is comfortable for both rider and pillion.

I will always have room in my heart for that bike.

If you would like to know more about the GS500 you can take a look at these links:

Text:

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/2010/05/article/my-new-suzuki-gs500f-fan-report/

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment